USA Flag

Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Press Release

Canadian NEXUS Members Now Eligible for TSA Pre✓™

Thursday, November 15, 2012

WASHINGTON – The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) today announced that Canadian NEXUS members who are eligible for TSA Pre✓™ can begin participating in the program. Canadian citizens traveling domestically in the United States who are members of the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) NEXUS program are eligible and may receive expedited screening at participating U.S. airports.

TSA Pre✓™ is part of TSA’s larger effort to implement risk-based security concepts that enhance security by focusing efforts on travelers considered higher risk and about whom the agency knows less. To date, more than 4 million passengers have experienced TSA Pre✓™. TSA Pre✓™ is now available in 32 U.S. airports for Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, United Airlines and US Airways frequent travelers.

“The inclusion of Canadian NEXUS members in TSA Pre✓™ is another step in building strong and effective partnerships to expand the use of vital risk-based security initiatives,” said TSA Assistant Administrator of Risk Based Security Doug Hofsass. “TSA Pre✓™ lanes will be available at 35 airports nationwide by the end of 2012.”

Eligible passengers include U.S. citizens flying on participating airlines and Canadian and U.S. citizens who participate in NEXUS, as well as U.S. citizens who are members of CBP’s other Trusted Traveler programs, including Global Entry and SENTRI. Individuals interested in applying for the NEXUS Trusted Traveler program should visit

Passengers interested in participating in TSA Pre✓™ through their Trusted Traveler program membership must enter their PASS ID into the ‘Known Traveler’ field when booking a flight reservation or saving their PASS ID to their airline’s frequent flyer profile. Members can find their PASS ID either online by accessing their Global Online Enrollment System (GOES) account, or on the back of their membership card in the top-left corner.

If TSA determines a passenger is eligible for expedited screening through the TSA Pre✓™ prescreening process, information is imbedded in the barcode of the passenger's boarding pass. TSA reads the barcode at the designated checkpoint and passengers may be referred to the TSA Pre✓™ lane where they will undergo expedited screening, which could include being able to leave their shoes, light outerwear and belt on, allowing them to keep their laptop in its case and their 3-1-1 compliant liquids/gels bag in their carry-on. Passengers do not need to display their CBP Trusted Traveler Card to use a TSA Pre✓™ lane.

TSA will always incorporate random and unpredictable security measures throughout the airport and no individual is guaranteed expedited screening. TSA's multi-layered approach to security also includes behavior detection officers, explosives-detection systems, canine teams, and federal air marshals, among other measures both seen and unseen.

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) was created in the wake of September 11, 2001, to strengthen the security of the nation’s transportation systems and ensure the freedom of movement for people and commerce. Today, TSA secures the nation’s airports and screens all commercial airline passengers and baggage. TSA uses a risk-based strategy and works closely with transportation, law enforcement and intelligence communities to set the standard for excellence in transportation security. TSA’s workforce is comprised of approximately 50,000 frontline officers who screen approximately 1.8 million travelers each day at more than 450 airports nationwide. For more information about TSA, please visit our website at