USA Flag

Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Program Information

Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC®)

The Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC) is a vital security measure that will ensure individuals who pose a threat do not gain unescorted access to secure areas of the nation's maritime transportation system.

TWIC was established by Congress through the Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA) and is administered by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and U.S. Coast Guard. TWICs are tamper-resistant biometric credentials issued to workers who require unescorted access to secure areas of ports, vessels, outer continental shelf facilities and all credentialed merchant mariners. Workers including longshoremen, truckers, port employees and others are required to obtain a TWIC.

To obtain a TWIC, an individual must provide biographic and biometric information such as fingerprints, sit for a digital photograph and successfully pass a security threat assessment conducted by TSA. Pre-enrollment is recommended as it is designed to save the applicant time by enabling them to provide their biographical information and make an appointment for in-person enrollment.

Currently, there are no regulatory requirements pertaining to the use of TWIC readers. However, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has launched a program to qualify card reader conformance to the TWIC Reader Hardware and Card Application Specification (dated May 2008). Readers determined to be conformant to TSA TWIC Reader requirements will be placed on a Qualified Technology List (QTL) maintained and made available to the public by TSA.  Click here to learn more about the TWIC reader activities.

Latest revision: 15 December 2012