TSA receives 2006 Acquisition Management Award

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

National Press Release
Thursday, December 7, 2006

WASHINGTON - The Transportation Security Administration’s Office of Acquisition has received the 2006 Excellence in Acquisition Management Award. Innovative recruitment and acquisition workforce management programs have strengthened the five-year-old agency’s acquisition process.

“Since standing up an agency of 50,000 employees in a matter of months, TSA worked to develop a strong and effective acquisition management structure,” said TSA Administrator Kip Hawley. “The innovative approach taken by Rick Gunderson and his staff is working.  This award underlines the great progress of his office to make TSA a model of efficient and responsible acquisitions programs.”

The award recognizes a number of initiatives TSA's Office of Acquisition implemented in the past year including the Acquisition Program Status Report system to closely monitor program progress.  The office has developed the “Fellows – Next Generation” program that recruits entry-level contract specialists.  Finally, the acquisition office coordinated with TSA’s Human Capital and Security offices to ensure a streamlined recruitment process resulting in the hiring of 19 fellows in less than 60 days.

The Office of Acquisition supports the agency with contract oversight and policy, acquisition workforce management, investment support and grants management. It also represents TSA within the Department of Homeland Security on all matters pertaining to acquisitions and in doing so aids in the facilitation of effective and efficient program management practices.

TSA’s accomplishments will be highlighted on the Federal Acquisition Institute's Web site, www.fai.gov

The award is open to agencies throughout the federal government and is awarded by the Office of Federal Procurement Policy and the Chief Acquisition Officers Council.