TSA Pre✓™ hits 10 million mark

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

National Press Release
Tuesday, May 21, 2013

WASHINGTON – The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) today announced the agency has screened more than 10 million travelers through TSA Pre✓™ lanes. TSA Pre✓™ expedited screening allows travelers to leave on their shoes, light outerwear and belts, keep their laptops in their cases, and one 3-1-1 compliant liquids/gels bag in their carry-on.

Eligible passengers include U.S. citizens of frequent traveler programs on participating airlines and current members of U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Trusted Traveler programs, including Global Entry, SENTRI and NEXUS.  Additionally, Canadian citizens who are NEXUS members are also eligible for TSA Pre✓™ on flights within or departing from the United States. Individuals interested in joining a CBP Trusted Traveler program can learn more by visiting www.cbp.gov.

"We are pleased that traveler participation in TSA Pre✓™ has reached this key milestone as we continue working to expand the eligible population of those travelers deemed low-risk,” said TSA Administrator John S. Pistole. “By implementing risk-based security concepts in our screening, we are able to focus efforts on travelers considered high-risk and about whom we know less."

TSA recently announced that TSA Pre✓™ participants are eligible for expedited screening benefits on select international travel itineraries. Eligible passengers flying internationally from the U.S. out of participating TSA Pre✓™ airports may receive expedited screening. Additionally, eligible passengers with connecting domestic flights who have arrived in the U.S. on an international flight may use the TSA Pre✓™ lanes when going through the screening process at participating airports.

In addition, U.S. military active duty members traveling through nine airport locations, including Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall, Charlotte Douglas International, Denver International, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International, Honolulu International, Lambert-St. Louis International, Washington Dulles International, Ronald Reagan Washington National and Seattle-Tacoma International airports are eligible to experience TSA Pre✓™.

Other TSA expedited screening initiatives that are available at all airports include modified screening procedures for travelers 12 and under, 75 and older, veterans on Honor Flights, as well as for injured and wounded members of the U.S. Armed Forces.

TSA will always incorporate random and unpredictable security measures throughout the airport and does not guarantee expedited screening for any individual. TSA’s multi-layered approach to security measures, both seen and unseen include behavior detection officers, explosives-detection systems, canine teams and federal air marshals.

For more information about all of TSA's risk-based security initiatives, visit www.tsa.gov.