TSA announces new members of the Aviation Security Advisory Committee

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

National Press Release
Monday, April 14, 2014

WASHINGTON - Transportation Security Administration Administrator John S. Pistole announced today the appointment of 24 new members to the Aviation Security Advisory Committee (ASAC), the advisory committee to TSA that provides recommendations for improving aviation security methods, equipment and procedures.

“The Aviation Security Advisory Committee plays a vital role in helping TSA focus on risk-based based security,” said Administrator Pistole. “I thank the outgoing, current and newly appointed members of the Committee for their service and dedication to helping TSA strengthen its layered approach to aviation security.”

This advisory committee enhances TSA’s security posture through consultation with key partners concerning potential risks to infrastructure, passengers and cargo. In addition, ASAC gathers input from stakeholders on the effectiveness of security procedures and develops recommendations for possible improvements.  

Department of Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson appointed the following members to the committee:

  • Stephen Alterman, Cargo Airline Association
  • Christopher Bidwell, Airports Council International – North America
  • Alan Black, Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport
  • Scott Broyles, National Safe Skies Alliance
  • Bill Cason, Coalition of Airline Pilots Associations
  • Sean Cassidy, Air Line Pilots Association, Intl.
  • Michael Cintron, International Airline Passengers Association
  • Liam Connolly, Regional Airline Association
  • Joseph Dalton, NetJets Aviation, Inc.
  • Kenneth Dunlap, North America International Air Transport Association
  • Robert Francis, Farragut International, LLC
  • Brandon Fried, Airforwarders Association
  • Jonathan Grella, U.S. Travel Association
  • Jillian Gustafson, National Air Disaster Alliance/Foundation
  • Jens Hennig, General Aviation Manufacturers Association
  • Stephen Holl, Airport Law Enforcement Agencies Network
  • Glenn Johnson, Victims of Pan Am Flight 103, Inc.
  • Michael McCormick, Global Business Travel Association
  • John McGraw, National Air Transportation Association
  • Carter Morris,  American Association of Airport Executives
  • Susan Presti, The International Air Cargo Association
  • Eric Thacker, Airlines for America
  • Christopher Witkowski, Association of Flight Attendants – CWA
  • Thomas Zecha, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Members serve up to two-year terms from the date of the appointment, and those included in today’s announcement will serve terms of office that will expire on April 9, 2016.

ASAC was established in 1989 in the wake of the crash of Pan Am 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. For more information on ASAC, visit tsa.gov.