4 Montana airports awarded private screening contract

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

Local Press Release
Friday, May 30, 2014

BILLINGS, Mont. — The Transportation Security Administration today announced the selection of Comprehensive Security Services Inc. and FirstLine Transportation Security Inc. — a joint venture — as the private screening contractors under the agency's Screening Partnership Program. These companies will provide screening service for four airports in Montana: Bert Mooney Airport (BTM), Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport (BZN), Glacier Park International Airport (GPI) and Yellowstone Airport (WYS).

"The SPP program enables TSA to partner with qualified private companies to provide screening services under federal oversight," said TSA's Montana Federal Security Director Dan Fevold. "We look forward to building a strong partnership at these four airports."

This competitively awarded contract is for security screening services for both passenger checkpoint and checked baggage operations. The total contract award value for the four airports, including options, is $28.6 million. If all options are exercised, the total period of performance is 60 months, which begins June 1, 2014, and ends May 31, 2019. Under SPP, TSA managers at each airport will be responsible for overseeing TSA security standards and contractor performance.

Eighteen airports nationwide now participate in SPP. The addition of these four airports in Montana brings the total number in the state to nine. The other five Montana SPP airports are: Sidney-Richland Municipal Airport (SDY), Dawson Community Airport (GDV), L. M. Clayton Airport (OLF), Wokal Field/Glasgow International Airport (GGW) and Havre City-County Airport (HVR).

The other nine SPP airports are: San Francisco International Airport (SFO), Kansas City International Airport (MCI), Greater Rochester International Airport (ROC), Jackson Hole Airport (JAC), Tupelo Regional Airport (TUP), Sioux Falls Regional Airport (FSD), Key West International Airport (EYW), Charles M. Schulz–Sonoma County Airport (STS) and Roswell International Air Center (ROW).

SPP is designed to meet the requirements established in the Aviation and Transportation Security Act of 2001. Beginning in 2002, ATSA required TSA to conduct a SPP pilot program at five airports. Since 2004, when the pilot program ended, all commercial airports have been eligible to apply to SPP.