TSA Pre✓® expands to Tri-State Airport in West Virginia

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

Local Press Release
Monday, March 16, 2015

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — The Transportation Security Administration today announced the start of TSA Pre✓® operations at Tri-State Airport (HTS) in Wayne County, West Virginia . TSA Pre✓® is an expedited screening program that allows select flyers to leave on their shoes, light outerwear and belt, keep their laptop in its case and keep 3-1-1 compliant liquids/gels in a carry-on bag.

Tri-State Airport is one of 132 airports in the country where passengers can experience expedited screening. Currently the only airline serving HTS that participates in the program is US Airways.

“The expansion of TSA Pre✓® to the Tri-State Airport highlights TSA’s ongoing commitment to adopting intelligence-driven, risk-based security initiatives that provide the most effective security in the most efficient way,” said Karen Keys-Turner , TSA’s federal security director for West Virginia. “The initiative also allows us to be active partners with the airline and other stakeholders in expanding our abilities to provide expedited screening and a better travel experience for travelers leaving our shores.”

TSA Pre✓® is part of the agency’s efforts to focus its resources and improve the passenger experience at security checkpoints by applying new intelligence-driven, risk-based screening procedures and enhancing its use of technology. Through a variety of risk-based initiatives such as TSA Pre✓®, TSA provides effective security while gaining efficiencies and improving the travel experience for millions of passengers each week.

To apply, U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents may pre-enroll online at tsa.gov and must visit an application center to provide biographic information (e.g. a government issued ID showing current address), be fingerprinted, and provide a U.S. passport, U.S. birth certificate or valid immigration documentation, as well as pay an application fee of $85 for a five-year membership.

Application centers are located around the country. Pre-enrollment, along with reserving an appointment time at tsa.gov, is recommended.

Once approved, passengers will receive a known traveler number (KTN) and will have the opportunity to utilize TSA Pre✓® lanes at security checkpoints at approximately 130 participating airports and on 11 major airlines: Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Hawaiian Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, Sun Country Airlines, United Airlines, US Airways and Virgin America.

Members of a U.S. Customs and Border Protection Trusted Traveler program (Global Entry, NEXUS or SENTRI) already pre-qualify for TSA Pre✓® and can utilize their PASSID as their Known Traveler Number.

Passengers are encouraged to save their Known Traveler Number (KTN) in each frequent flyer profile. Additionally, those who purchase their tickets via a third-party website or travel agency should enter their KTN each time they make a reservation.

Information is imbedded in the barcode of the passenger’s boarding pass when a passenger is eligible for TSA Pre✓®. TSA reads the barcode at the checkpoint and the passenger may be referred to a TSA Pre✓® lane. The 11 participating carriers also print a TSA Pre✓® indicator directly on the boarding pass so passengers will know in advance that they have been cleared for expedited screening.

As always, TSA continues to incorporate random and unpredictable security measures both seen and unseen throughout the airport. All travelers will be screened, and no individual will be guaranteed expedited screening.

To learn more about TSA Pre✓®, visit tsa.gov/precheck. For more information about the four trusted traveler programs that include TSA Pre✓® eligibility, visit dhs.gov/tt.