USA Flag

Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Transportation Security Administration

TSA announces upcoming airports to offer TSA Pre✓™

Archived Content

Please note that older content is archived for public record. This page may contain information that is outdated and may not reflect current policy or programs.

If you have questions about policies or procedures, please contact the TSA Contact Center.

Members of the news media may contact TSA Public Affairs.

National Press Release
Thursday, February 21, 2013

WASHINGTON The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) today announced five more airports will offer TSA Pre✓™, bringing the total number of airports participating to 40. By April 1, 2013, eligible passengers flying on participating airlines out of Austin-Bergstrom International (AUS), Cleveland Hopkins International (CLE), Memphis International (MEM), Nashville International (BNA) and Raleigh-Durham International (RDU) airports may receive TSA Pre✓™ benefits.

Select passengers traveling on Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, United Airlines and US Airways are eligible to participate in expedited screening at available locations. To date, more than 6.5 million passengers have experienced TSA Pre✓™ which allows passengers to leave on their shoes, light outerwear and belt, keep their laptop in its case and their 3-1-1 compliant liquids/gels bag in a carry-on.

“Offering TSA Pre✓™ at five additional airports is a key step to including more low risk travelers in the expedited screening process,” said TSA Administrator John S. Pistole. “This pre-screening initiative helps TSA focus its resources on those individuals we know less about, and strengthens our capabilities to ensure security for travelers when they fly.”

Eligible passengers include U.S. citizens who have opted-in through Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, United Airlines and US Airways as well as those who are members of U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Trusted Traveler programs, including Global Entry, SENTRI and NEXUS. Canadian citizens traveling domestically in the United States who are members of NEXUS are also qualified to participate in TSA Pre✓™. Individuals interested in joining a CBP Trusted Traveler program can learn more by visiting

Passengers 12 and younger are allowed through TSA Pre✓™ lanes with eligible passengers. Additionally, U.S. military active duty members may also participate when traveling through Charlotte Douglas International, Denver International Airport, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International, Honolulu International, Ronald Reagan Washington National, Seattle-Tacoma International and Washington Dulles International airports. TSA anticipates expanding these military benefits to Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall and Lambert-St. Louis International airports when operationally ready.

If TSA determines a passenger is eligible for TSA Pre✓™, information is embedded in the barcode of the passenger’s boarding pass. TSA scans the boarding pass at the designated TSA Pre✓™ lane where the passenger may experience the expedited screening process.

TSA will always incorporate random and unpredictable security measures throughout the airport and no individual is guaranteed expedited screening. TSA’s multi-layered approach to security also includes behavior detection officers, explosives-detection systems, canine teams, and federal air marshals, among other measures, both seen and unseen.