TSA announces chairperson and vice chairperson for the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee

National Press Release
Friday, August 30, 2019

WASHINGTON – The Transportation Security Administration today announced the selection of a chair and vice chair for the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee (STSAC).

Thomas Farmer, Assistant Vice President for Security for the Association of American Railroads (AAR) will serve as the committee’s chairperson and Polly Hanson, Director of Security, Risk and Emergency Management of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) will serve as the committee’s vice chairperson. Mr. Farmer and Ms. Hanson were selected by the voting members of the STSAC and approved by the Acting Deputy Administrator.

“Mr. Farmer and Ms. Hanson were selected by their peers for these roles because of their expertise and experience as leaders from the surface transportation community,” said TSA Acting Deputy Administrator Patricia F.S. Cogswell. “I want to express my sincere appreciation for their willingness to take on this critical role as well as their commitment to improving surface transportation security. I know they will serve with distinction.”

The STSAC advises the TSA Administrator on surface transportation security matters, including the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, initiatives, rulemakings and security directives pertaining to surface transportation security.

The committee operates in accordance with the provisions of the TSA Modernization Act of 2018 (P.L. 115-254), which was signed into law on October 5, 2018.

The committee anticipates meeting at least twice a year, with one of these meetings being open to the public.

The next meeting of the committee is being planned for October 2019.

To learn more about and follow the progress of the STSAC, visit: https://www.tsa.gov/for-industry/surface-transportation-security.