Ohio woman cited by police after TSA catches her with a loaded handgun at Huntington Tri-State Airport

Local Press Release
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Loaded handgun that was detected at the Huntington Tri-State Airport checkpoint on October 2. (TSA photo)

HUNTINGTON, WV – A Lawrence County, Ohio, woman was cited by police after she was caught by Transportation Security Administration officers at Huntington Tri-State Airport (HTS) with a loaded gun in her carry-on bag on Wednesday, October 2. The .380 caliber handgun was loaded with six bullets. It marked the ninth gun caught at the airport’s checkpoint so far this year. By comparison, TSA officers caught two firearms at the HTS checkpoint in 2018.

TSA officers spotted the gun when the woman’s belongings entered the X-ray machine. They contacted the airport police, who arrived at the checkpoint, confiscated the gun and detained the woman, a resident of South Point, Ohio, for questioning, before citing her on a weapons violation.

Passengers are permitted to travel with firearms in checked baggage if they are properly packaged and declared. Firearms must be unloaded, packed in a hard-sided case, locked, and packed separately from ammunition. Firearm possession laws vary by state and locality. Even travelers with concealed firearm permits are not allowed to bring guns onto airplanes in their carry-on bags.

Nationwide last year, 4,239 firearms were discovered in carry-on bags at checkpoints across the country, averaging about 11.6 firearms per day, approximately a 7% increase nationally in firearm discoveries from the total of 3,957 detected in 2017. Eighty-six percent of firearms detected at checkpoints last year were loaded and nearly 34% had a bullet in the chamber.

As a reminder, individuals who bring firearms to the checkpoint are subject to possible criminal charges from law enforcement. Even travelers with concealed firearm permits are not allowed to bring guns onto airplanes in their carry-on bags. If an individual is a TSA Pre✓® member, then that person could even lose TSA Pre✓® status. In addition, TSA has the authority to assess civil penalties of up to $13,333 for weapons violations. A typical first offense for carrying a handgun into a checkpoint is $4,100. The complete list of penalties is posted online.

TSA has details on how to properly travel with a firearm posted on its website. Travelers should also contact their airline as they may have additional requirements for traveling with firearms and ammunition.