TSA hosts inaugural Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee meeting

National Press Release
Thursday, July 11, 2019

WASHINGTON – The Transportation Security Administration today hosted the first Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee meeting, which was established in accordance with the TSA Modernization Act of 2018. The STSAC joins representatives of federal departments and agencies with surface transportation oversight with members representing surface transportation providers and users to provide recommendations on surface transportation security matters.

“The STSAC formalizes the existing partnerships with industry leaders whose knowledge and expertise have played a vital role in our joint ongoing efforts to secure and safeguard the surface transportation system,” said Acting Deputy Administrator Patricia Cogswell. “TSA is proud to convene the STSAC as we seek to continue and build upon our progress. I think it is fitting that we are holding our inaugural meeting today, as we remember those who were affected by the commuter train terrorist attacks in Mumbai, India on July 11, 2006.”

The STSAC comprises 37 voting members and 14 nonvoting members. Voting members consist of individuals representing each mode of surface transportation. Nonvoting members serve on the committee in an advisory capacity and include representatives from the Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of Homeland Security, Department of Transportation, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and National Transportation Safety Board.

The committee will meet at least twice a year, and will provide periodic reports on important matters as well as annual reports on the activities, findings, and recommendations of the committee during the preceding year.

Learn more about the STSAC.