Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee

The TSA Administrator has appointed 40 voting members, listed below:

Mass Transit and Passenger Rail:

  • Anthony Mercogliano, Assistant Director of Security Program Management, New York City Metropolitan Transportation Authority (NY MTA)
  • Christopher Trucillo, Chief of Police, NJ Transit Police Department
  • Ivan T. Mote, Chief Safety Officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority
  • James Cook, Assistant Chief of Police, Amtrak Police Department
  • Joe Perez, Chief of Police & Security, Northeast Illinois Commuter Railroad
  • Polly Hanson, Director of Security, Risk and Emergency Management, American Public Transportation Association
  • Robert J. Finnegan, Captain, Police Administration, Delaware River Port Authority Police
  • Robert P. Gatchell, Chief, Safety & Security Officer, Brightline

Freight Rail:

  • Donald B. Loftis, Principle Software Engineer, Olin Corporation
  • Edward R. Gelnar, Jr., Vice President of Safety and Compliance, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
  • Greg Bretzing, Senior Vice President, Global Security, Safety and Corporate Affairs, The Greenbrier Companies, Inc.
  • Herschel Flowers, Homeland Security Manager, Kansas City Southern Railway
  • Thomas L. Farmer, Assistant Vice President of Security, Association of American Railroads


  • Alfred J. Hancock, Senior Regulatory Security Consultant, Xcel Energy
  • Brian Harrell—Vice President & Chief Security Officer, AVANGRID
  • Rebecca Gagliostro, Manager of Federal Programs, Southern Gas Company
  • Robert Mims—Director, Security-Gas, Nuclear, and Electric, Security Operations, Southern Company
  • William L. Hayward, Director of Security, BP Alaska


  • Lowell Williams—Director, Cybersecurity Operations Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
  • Peter Grandgeorge—National Security and Resiliency Advisor, Berkshire Hathaway Energy


  • Jared Cassity— Chief of Safety and Alternate National Legislative Director, SMART Transportation

Highway and Motor Carrier – Infrastructure:

  • Eileen M. Phifer, Safety and Security Administrator, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
  • Natalie Jones-Best, Emergency Preparedness and Risk Manager, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

Highway and Motor Carrier – Trucking:

  • Alexandra Rosen, Immigration & Cross-Border Operations Manager, American Trucking Association
  • Douglas R. Morris, Director of Safety and Security Operations, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association
  • Jacob E. Pierce, Deputy Executive Director, Safety Management Council, American Trucking Association

Highway and Motor Carrier – Over-the-Road Bus (Motor Coach):

  • Alan Smith, Director of Safety and Security, Greyhound
  • Jason W. Louis, Vice President of Safety, Coach USA, Suburban Transit Bus Company
  • Michael A. Beltranena, Jr., Director of Safety and Security, Coach USA/Suburban Transit Bus Company
  • Michael J. Licata, Chair, Highway and Motor Carrier Sector Coordinating Council

Highway and Motor Carrier – School Bus:

  • Brian Reu, Lieutenant, Minnesota State Patrol, State Director of Pupil Transportation, National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services
  • Robert F. Ramsdell, Chair of the National School Transportation Association Safety & Security Committee

Groups Representing the Users of Surface Transportation:

  • Denise Rucker Krepp, Locally Elected Official, Advisory Neighborhood Committee
  • Dr. Patricia P. Woodbury, Councilwoman, City of Newport News, Virginia
  • Jaime E. Becerra, Retired Deputy Chief of Safety & Security, North County Transit District
  • Jennifer C. Gibson, Vice President, Regulatory Affairs, National Association of Chemical Distributors
  • Jonathan R. Todd, Partner, Transportation & Logistics Practice Group, Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP
  • Joseph A. DeLuca, Chief Compliance Officer, Secure Worker Access Consortium
  • Norma Krayem—Vice President, Chair, Cybersecurity, Privacy & Digital Innovation Practice Group Van Scoyoc Associates
  • Robyn S. Kinsley, Vice President, Transportation and Emergency Preparedness, The Chlorine Institute

In addition to the 37 voting members mentioned above, six federal departments and agencies with regulatory authority over one or more modes of surface transportation have designated representatives to serve as nonvoting members of the STSAC. There are 14 nonvoting members designated to the committee serving in an advisory capacity from the Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of Homeland Security, Department of Transportation, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and National Transportation Safety Board.